Gmür

Foto: Patrick Gmür
Patrick Gmür, architect, owner
Architect ETH | SIA | BSA
p.gmuer@gg-arch.ch

After studying architecture at the ETH Zurich, Switzerland, Patrick Gmür (*1961) founded and managed his own architectural office in Zurich from 1989 to 2009, until 1998 together with Regula Lüscher. He taught at various universities and technical colleges, first as an assistant and lecturer, then as a professor. From 2005–2008 he was director of the Institute of Architecture at the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland.



 

2000–2009 branch office with Jakob Steib architects, Zurich

As Director of the Office for Urban Planning of the City of Zurich, Switzerland, he was responsible for the development of the regional spatial planning concept, the overall revision of the regional structure plan and the partial revision of the building and zone regulations of the City of Zurich from 2009–2016.

 

In addition, he was responsible for the urban development, urban planning and architectural development of various urban areas and sites.

Since 1 October 2016, Patrick Gmür has again been a partner and co-owner of Gmür & Geschwentner Architekten + Stadtplaner AG. He also judges competitions, chairs the Stuttgart Design Advisory Board in Germany and gives lectures at home and abroad.

Gmür

Nach dem Studium der Architektur an der ETH Zürich gründete und führte Patrick Gmür (*1961) 1989–2009 ein eigenes Architekturbüro in Zürich. Daneben unterrichtete er an verschiedenen Universitäten und Fachhochschulen, zuerst als Assistent und Dozent, dann als Professor. Von 2005–2008 war er zudem Leiter des Instituts für Architektur der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz.


 

2000–2009 Zweigbüro mit Jakob Steib Architekten Zürich und seit 2001 Zusammarbeit in spezifischen Projekten mit Helle Architektur Zürich (u.a. Wohnhaus Gertrudstrasse, Zürich und Doppeleinfamilienhaus Obmatt, Adligenswil).

Als Direktor des Amts für Städtebau der Stadt Zürich trug er von 2009–2016 die inhaltliche (Mit-)Verantwortung für die Entwicklung des regionalen Raumordnungskonzepts, die Gesamtüberarbeitung des regionalen Richtplans und die Teilrevision der Bau- und Zonenordnung der Stadt Zürich.

 

Zudem verantwortete er die stadträumliche, städtebauliche und architektonische Entwicklung von verschiedenen Stadtgebieten und Arealen.

Seit dem 1. Oktober 2016 ist Patrick Gmür wieder Partner und Mitinhaber von Gmür & Geschwentner Architekten + Stadtplaner AG. Daneben juriert er Wettbewerbe, ist Vorsitzender des Gestaltungsbeirats Stuttgart und hält Vorträge im In- und Ausland.